I Do Not Love You

Pablo Neruda had me at Tonight, I Can Write (the Saddest Lines). I consider it as one of my all time favorite literary pieces. Reading it is like seeing my thoughts put into words (and immortalized) by a great poet. I even studied basic Portuguese so I can appreciate Neruda’s poems untranslated.

Tonight, as I browse through my Facebook newsfeed, I saw a post by one of my favorite theater actors: an excerpt from another Neruda composition, Sonnet XVII (commonly known as I Do Not Love You). It instantly became a favorite, too. These are my favorite lines:

image

An excerpt from Pablo Neruda's Sonnet XVII

I’m starting to think that Pablo Neruda stole my present thoughts (and feelings) when he wrote these lines years ago. Haha! :p

Leave a Reply

